Banana Slug Tennis Teams Earn ITA Scholar Awards

July 29, 2020

By , Sports Information Director  831-459-4962


TEMPE, ARIZONA - The UC Santa Cruz women's and men's tennis teams were honored for their academic prowess by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association on Wednesday

The Banana Slugs were one of 175 Division III women's tennis programs awarded the All-Academic Team distinction and among 125 Division III men's tennis programs awarded. Teams had to have a team grade point average of 3.2 or above (on a 4.00 scale). To be named a Scholar-Athlete, a GPA of 3.5 or above was needed for the 2019-20 school year. 

"I'm really proud of this team's commitment to academics and their pursuit of excellence in the classroom," said women's coach Amy Jensen. "I'm so grateful to coach at UC Santa Cruz and to work with such a high caliber of student-athletes." 

ITA Scholar-Athletes for the women's team were Dahlia Garcia, Vivian Lee, Kayla Manz, Savana McDowell, Angelina Powers and Sam Scarlett. For the men, Lucas Chen, Ryan Gee, Colby Grey, Rahul Iyer, Mathew Kermin, and Andrew Tjoa were named Scholar-Athletes.

"I'm happy our Slugs are not only stepping up their games on court, but also in the classroom," said men's head coach Jimmy Soper. "Their determination and work ethic will take the team a long way when we return."

See Also